Tags

, , ,

If you’re seeing this, then the site is back up (yay)! And I’d like to wish everyone a merry Christmas first and foremost before I dive into the nitty gritty. So, yes, Merry Christmas! And I hope Santa was generous with the presents.

New Stuff

Right. So there’s quite a bit of new stuff to sort through! You’ll likely have noticed the new design layout (I hope you like it, if not.. coal for you! ;p). There’s also a lot of new social networking-esque type features in. Join groups, make friends and so forth. You can now also provide your own rating for a game that has been reviewed – just go to the review in question and add your rating.

There are a few things not working that I am aware of, namely a few missing buttons like for join group.  My aim is to have those sorted out asap, but as it is Christmas, I expect a few days await on a response from the people I’ve asked about the issue (the theme author). Groups have their own discussion forums too, I should add, once you can get in to them at least.

Achievements, where art thou? I’m still committed to having an achievement scheme as part of the site experience, however, the achievements were throwing up an error whenever an event was triggered to unlock it, so for now it is being held off until a future update.

Re-Launch Competition

To celebrate the site’s “re-launch”, I’ll be running a competition. The prize on offer? The Humble Indie Bundle Pack #4. Watch the trailer below.

The Humble Indie Bundle #4 prize I am offering will have the following games in it: Cave Story+, Gratuitous Space Battles, Jamestown, Bit.Trip Runner, Super Meat Boy, Shank and NightSky HD. Not only do you get all those games, but the following games that were apart of the Humble Indie Bundle #3 are also included; Crayon Physics Deluxe, Cogs, VVVVVV, Hammerfight and Yet It Moves. Still not enticing enough for you? This Bundle also includes the soundtracks for all the games (if your into that sort of thing) and all games are cross-platform and available for download via a number of methods.

So they can be played on Windows, Mac or Linux! Steam Keys are available, as well as DRM-free alternatives.

Got you hooked now, don’t I? Want to know how to win this bad boy? It’s rather simple. Just leave a comment (a legitimate one please) on any article on the site between now and January 1st. On the 1st, I will randomly pick one commenter and he/she will win this awesome prize.

Due to some complications with the re-launch, the poll data was lost (sad-face). However, before the site went down for maintenance, I double checked the results and so I can happily announce just which game won the GamingHUD Game of the Year Title.

*Drum roll*

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim claims the inaugural Game of the Year title on GamingHUD – Skyrim had over 50% of all votes made in that poll, so a well deserved victory to say the least. Congratulations Bethesda Games for creating this wonderful, wonderful game!

